Dr. W.T. Henry Trophy

Doctor Bill Henry joined the club in 1962, after a chance meeting with Lew Morris when he was on a club run in the Forest of Dean. Dr. Henry was a G.P. at Parkend in the Forest and along with his wife Vera and daughters Jill and Carol would make regular appearances on club runs. Bill and his family each had a Hetchins painted in West Ham Football Club’s colours; the bikes were always immaculately maintained.

At least once a year the Henry’s home would become a tea place where most active club members would make an effort to attend and enjoy the fantastic spread that would be laid before them. All the money charged for this would be donated to club funds.

Bill would regularly turn out to help or take part in club activities, riding the Three Cities (taking a racing bronze medal in 197l), and 25 and 50 mile time trials. He was also invited to provide medical care at some of the spring training camps in Majorca.

He became club president in 1971 and was so honoured to be given this position that he gave the club a trophy to be awarded to the winner of the October 25 Mile time trial.

The ‘Doc’ also enjoyed motor bikes and in his later years he joined a motor cycle club. It was while on ride with his club in South Wales in 1986 that he had a stroke from which he never completely recovered. Despite this Bill and Vera remained cheerful and were good hosts to the club as a coffee stop in the Forest of Dean.

Bill died in 2009, he was 83.

Awarded to the Overall Winner of the Autumn 25


2019Max StedmanHuntBikeWheels55m 43s
2017Pile/Amery/DaviesVeloClub SEVALE58m 20s
20163 upCycology Bikes55m 16s
20153 upGCCC/ Velovitesse1h 3m 3s
20143 upVeloton55m 41s
2013Jeff JonesDrag2Zero53m25s
2012Jeff Jones53m34s
2011Rob PearsBath CC55m47s
2010Dave KiddallCavalier CC52m11s
2009Jeff Jones54m 41s
2008Jeff JonesChippenham & District Wheelers56m30s
2003Steve MarchantSwindon RC
2002S. BatsfordHounslow & Ditrict Wheelers
2000Roger IddlesStourbridge CC
1998Terry WoodWorcester St. John CC
1996B. BussRAF CC
1995Lee Davis
1994Alister Scott
1993Andy Griffiths
1992N. Gardiner
1989John Barnes
1988J. French
1987R. Thorne
1986D. Holliday
1984C. Williamson1h 0m 4s
1978Phil Griffiths
1973D. Holliday