Boakes Three Cities Shield

Boakes Three Cities Shield

In 1891 when it all started, the club was known as The Tyndale Cycling Club, which is remembered today in the Club’s Tyndale Section. Initially, it was mainly a social group but as the membership grew and a few more small local clubs came into the fold some of the members started to introduce a few challenges into their season.

The first of these challenges appeared to be the Three Cities Standard Ride, introduced in 1905. At first, this was primarily a map reading competition with the competitors trying to find the shortest or easiest route passing St. John’s Bridge in Worcester, the Shire Hall in Hereford and Westgate Bridge in Gloucester (the shortest route satisfying the criteria is approximately 84 miles). A time allowance of 6 hours and 30 minutes was given. This was not that generous considering that bicycles of the time typically weighed something in the region of 56lbs with a single gear of around 60 inches (44 x 20) and some were still using solid tyres!

In 1922, Mr. John Boakes provided the challenge shield for the fastest rider in this event. The first recipient of this shield was V.Wedburg with a time of 5 hours 13 minutes and 15 seconds.

Mr Boakes had been a cyclist for some years when his father owned a cycle business before coming to Cheltenham in 1910 and it was at about that time that he joined the Gloucester City.C.C. He became a vice-president in 1926 and he appeared to be quite an active member of the club; officiating at events, marshalling and such like He carried the letters M.I.A.E. and C.Eng., F.I.Mech.E. after his name, so he was a Member of the Institution of Aeronautical Engineers, a Chartered Engineer and a Fellow of the Mechanical Engineers, a hugely qualified man. He remained a vice president until his death in May 1971.


2019Tim Butler3hr 40m 16s
2018Tim Gudgeon-Osterritter4h 06m 30s
2017Bruce Diesel3h 23m 56s
2016Oliver Dammone3hr 40m 26s
2015Niall Ingleby3h48m53s
2014Sean Townsend
2013Jim McLoughlin3h27m32s
2012Gerry McGarr
Gerry McGarr3h41m12s
Ian Humble4h1m50s
Simon Chapman4h14m23s
Guy Preece3h 40m 49s
2007George Unsworth3h 20m 26s
2003George Unsworth
2002Andy Jarvis
2001Andy Jarvis
2000Andy Jarvis
1998Andy Jarvis
1997Andy Jarvis
1996Stephen Hayward
1995John Murphy
1994Alister Scott
1993Chris Washbrooke
1992Chris Washbrooke
1991Chris Washbrooke
1990Alister Scott
1989John Barnes
1988John Barnes
1986Gerry McGarr
1984Gerry McGarr3h 40m 20s
1983John Barnes
1979Mike Davies4h 7m 23s
1978Ted Tedaldi
1973W. Griffiths