

Gloucester City Cycling Club

Steve Taylor Memorial Road Race Sunday 22nd September 2019

A Cotswold League Race for Categories 2, 3 & 4 riders

Held under the rules and regulations of British Cycling

Headquarters

Welland Village Hall Marlbank Road, Welland, Malvern, WR13 6LL

Key information:

Organiser: Dan Morgan (race day contact 07972533191)

Car Parking: The HQ has an integral car park but please park considerately to make best use of the space available.

RACE DETAILS

Signing on: Open from 08:30, closes at 09:30 at which time reserve riders will be invited to take vacant slots. Walk-ins (entries on the day) if any will be registered as Reserves in order of application after 08:30.

Race in Brief: The race takes place over 4 laps over a 16 mile loop

Start: The race briefing will be held at 09.40 at the event HQ. The neutralised zone will start at the exit from the HQ, right along B4208 until all race traffic and riders are all up together then it will be RACE ON!!!!

Riders: All riders must wear a helmet. Licences must be presented at signing on and will be returned on return of your race number and upon authorisation by the Chief Commissaire. **No helmet and/or no licence, means no Ride.** Lists of Accepted riders and Reserves are attached.

Marshalling: There will be Accredited Marshals (AM) and Red Flag marshals on foot at each of the major road junctions on the circuit. Rules of the road still apply. There will be NEG motorbike riders escorting the race. The AMs and NEGs are empowered to stop traffic and/or warn the approaching race but you cannot assume that they will be completely successful in sealing the race off from all other road users. It remains your responsibility to look out for traffic and respond accordingly. Be particularly aware of animals.

Conduct: Riders must present themselves in a clean and tidy condition and must wear colours in accordance with BC regulations. Riders must be courteous at all times to local residents, other road users, race officials and race marshals/volunteers. Any offenders will be reported to the Chief Commissaire and organiser. Fast approaching traffic may be encountered and there are numerous white-lined sections. Inconsiderate or dangerous riding may be subject to BC sanctions such as withdrawal of race licence.

Race Officials:

Chief Commissaire: Steve Jones Assistant Commissaire: Clive Taylor Chief Judge: Anne Arnold First Aid: GWAS Ambulance. Motorcycle Escort: NEG Race Service: Velo Vitesse Race Support Team. Marshals and helpers: Accredited Marshals

Prizes: Cash Prizes will be awarded on the day at the event HQ: Individual: 1st; £60; 2nd £50; 3rd £40; 4th £30, 5th £20 Team (of 3): 1st; £60; 2nd £40; 3rd £20

PRIZE MONEY MUST BE CLAIMED AT THE PRIZE PRESENTATION. IT WILL BE AWARDED TO THE FIRST 5 INDIVIDUALS AND FIRST 3 TEAMS PRESENT AT THAT TIME

Acknowledgements:

The Race Organiser on behalf of Gloucester City Cycling Club would like to thank all of the following for their help and assistance in making this event possible:

- All officials and helpers

- British Cycling South and West Regions and HQ for their help and support, provision of equipment and resources

- Welland Village Hall for the use of their facilities
- Worcestershire Constabulary

Course details:

- Start 10:00 outside Event HQ. Turning right onto The B4208 race neutralised, follow the road.
- Race remains neutralised until the race convoy groups and the Chief Commissaire starts the race.
- Proceed on the B4208 for 3 miles taking care of any road traffic.
- Turn Left onto the A438 and follow for 5.2 miles. During thing this stretch you will cross over the M50 towards Long Green.
- Once in Long Green turn left and proceed onto the B4211.
- Continue on the B4211 towards Longdon for 3.8 miles.
- Turn Left on to the A4104 Welland Road. Continue through Duckswich and Lower Hook for 3 miles towards Welland.
- Turn Left onto the B4208 continue past HQ where lap board will be visable and sprint to finish.
- Continue for 3 more laps.

This course consists of a 16 mile rolling start from the event HQ. there will be a small neuturalised section to allow all race convey and riders to leave the village of welland and enter Castlemorton common. This course is rolling with no steep hills but is rarely flat. Some of the course contains unbroken single and double white lines so be careful if trying to overtak on the outside of the peloton.

A link to the Circuit with downloadable files follows below.

Route for Welland Circuit https://www.strava.com/routes/20578977

List of Riders

1	Tim Butler	Gloucester City Cycling Club	4th
2	James Fawbet	Gloucester City Cycling Club	3rd
3	James Reeves	Gloucester City Cycling Club	3rd
4	Sam Duffy	Bath CC	3rd
5	Robert Pearse	Bath CC	3rd
6	Will Duffy	Bath CC	3rd
7	Chris Hill	Bristol RC	2nd
8	Jacob Sargent	Bristol RC	3rd
9	Trevor Smith	Cotswold Veldrijden	3rd
10	Will Lewis	Performance Cycles	2nd
11	Darren Rider	Performance Cycles	2nd
12	Dave Roper	Ride 24/7	2nd
13	Phil Hopley	Radeon	4th
14	Russel Peace	Veloce	2nd
15	Micheal Davis	Veloce	2nd
16	Archie Whyte	Veloce	3rd
17	Guy Jones	Veloce	2nd
18	Thomas Hogan	Veloce	2nd
19	Ross Holland	Veloce	1st
20	Samual Whithead	Bristol CC	3 rd
21	Matt Lelliot	Steel Davis Via Roma RT	2nd
22	Jeremy Addis	VC ST Raphael	2nd
23	Maxwell Brace		4th
24	Luke Protheroe	Abergavenny Road Club	2nd
25	David Middleton	Veloflow CC – Rowe & King	2nd
26	Carl Jolly	Universaty of Bristol	3rd
27	Nick Morris	Clee Cycles	2nd
28	James Miller	Salt and Sham Cycle Club	3rd
29	Josh Williams	Clee Cycles	2nd
30	Lewis Braithwaite	Steel Davis Via Roma RT	3rd

31	Sam Hardy	University of Bath Cycling Club	3rd
32	Jacob Hady	Cheltenham & County CC	3rd
33	Thomas Prince	Avid Sport	3rd
34	Richard Harris	Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club	2nd
35	Deacon Clutterham CGC	BIKESTRONG KTM	2nd
36	Nathen Hallet	Nopinz Symec Race Team	2nd
37	Steven Bunting	High Peak Cycles RT	3rd
38	Edward Morgan	Bynea CC	2nd
39	Rory Gilling	Velo Club Montpellier	2nd
40	Euan Taylor	Giant Cycling Club – Halo	2nd
41	Mathew Holder	ZeroBC	2nd
42	James Bevan	Army Cycling Club	2nd
43	Richad Cleaver	Cheltenham & County CC	3rd
44	Craig Mcoll	Dirty Wknd	3rd
45	Dennis Randal	Chepstow Cycling Club	3rd
46	Kurt Hatwell	2 Wheels Only	2nd
47	Matthew Witts	BIKESTRONG – KTM	2nd
48	Robbie Jones		4th
49	Daniel Mclean- Howell	Cardiff Ajax CC	2nd
50	Lawrence Cronk	Cardiff Ajax CC	4th
51	Joe Monk	Exeter Wheelers	2nd
52	Bernard Swinterton	Swinterton Cycles	4th
53	William Carter	Imperial College Cycling Club	4th
54	Neil Edwards		3rd
55	Declan Hudson	Liverpool Century RC	2nd
56	Andrew Eagers	Derby Mercury RC	3rd
57	Charlie Genner	Wye Forrest CRC	2nd
58	Rhodri Lord	Cardiff Ajax CC	2nd
59	Micheal Harrison	Audlem Cycling Club	3rd
60	Andrew Morris	Team LDN	2nd

61	Gregory Holmes	Team Vision Innovative Leisure	2nd
62	Luke Souter	Shutt Ridley Rt	2nd
63	Will Beach	The MI Racing Academy	2nd
64	David Lowe		3rd
65	Sean Townsend	VCEQUIP/FLIXORALHYGIENE/PROPULSE	2nd
66	Joshua Avey	Team Vision Innovative Leisure	2nd
67	Liam Fenner	API-METROW/Bodyby JR	1st
68	Samual Becket	Cardiff JIf	2nd
69	Darren Rider	Team PB Performance	2nd
70	Bryon Hooper	Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club	2nd
71 72	Morgan Jones Otto Rutter	Cardiff University Marmets	2 nd 3 rd
73	Tom Pelfrey	Towy Riders	3 rd
74	Steve Tait	OVB	2 nd
75	Robert Lewis	Royal Navy & Royal marines CA	3 rd
76	Wayne Reeks	Ely Race Club	2 nd
77	Billy Norton	Ely Race Club	3 rd
78	Matt Morris	Ely Race Club	3rd